Yamas & Niyamas


Learn the foundational practice of Yoga! In this workshop explore the first two Limbs of Yoga’s Eight Fold Path set forth by Patanjali in the Yoga Sutras. The Yamas and Niyamas are yoga’s ten ethical guidelines to the practice. This is the foundation to yogic thought.  This workshop  will bring a technical, tangible and relatable context to these ideas of an ethical practice.

Workshop will include takeaway handout and mental, emotional, spiritual excercises on:

  • Yamas-Self Restraint, Self Control and Self  Discipline
  • Ahimsa-Nonviolence or Compassion
  • Satya – Truthfulness
  • Asteya – Nonstealing
  • Brahmacharya – Nonexcess or Abstinence
  • Aparigraha- Non-possessiveness or detachment
  • Niyamas- Observance, Duty and Obligation
  • Saucha-Purity
  • Santosha – Contentment
  • Tapas-Self Discipline
  • Svadhyaya – Self Study
  • Ishvara Pranidhana-Surrender or Celebration of Spirit


  • -Application of Yamas and Niyamas as it relates to physical practice
  • -Physical manifestation through applied philosophy
  • -Renewal of Physical self when practiced
  • -Interactive questioning of self


  • -Basic understanding of Yamas & Niyamas
  • -Understanding of self regulation
  • -Processing application of Yamas & Niyamas through theory


  • -Supports skills of personal discernment through workbook style questions
  • -Conducive environment in attainment of personal understanding
  • -Tools that support a new practice in using Yamas & Niyamas in daily life
  • -Connection to feelings of emotional self


  • -Devotion of self to one’s learning and growth
  • -Unwavering faith in the philosophy
  • -Fosters unifying community through working in groups
  • -Awareness through basic principles as they are applied
%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close